KIA celebrity – 70’s

KIA (Korean for “arise from Asia”) was formed in 1944, shortly before North Korea invaded the South. The company would eventually succeed, first as a diversified manufacturer of bicycles and industrial products, and later as a manufacturer of trucks and automobiles. Kia started out producing steel tubing and bicycle parts before building its own line of bicycles in the 1950s. It eventually parlayed that know-how into its own line of motorcycles, and later turned to trucks and vehicles production. (Source Funding Universe)

This entry was posted in 3 speed, Cycle Chic, found, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to KIA celebrity – 70’s

  1. Thom says:

    You have models now?😉

    Interesting chain guard attachment–bolted right to the frame.

  2. Nice – I love the crisp lines on that chain guard. Looks like they had some expensive tooling to produce that!

  3. 721sandwiches says:

    Nice valve stems… the original tubes probably. Fully threaded. Love these goofy old 3 speeds!

  4. Jake WHite says:

    I have a Kia Breeze… I know Shwinn made a Breeze, but this is a Kia. I cant find any info on it…Any Ideas>

  5. Doug says:

    I have twin kia hi-risers with bananna seats that I bought for my 2 girls in 1977. Anybody know anything about these bikes. I’m thinking about restoring them.

  6. Ricardo M Somoza says:

    I’ve, just came up on a womens KIA 1980 28inch bike on the one I would like to know howmuch is worth and if thewre’s, anyone interested on geting there hands on it, thank you and by the way is all original yellow 3 speed. Thank you.

  7. Renee says:

    I have a bike identical to the one pictured. I would like to know how much it is worth, and if it is worth restoring. It is in slightly better condition than the one in the photo.

  8. benny aragon says:

    hello everyone out there, i have a bmx made buy kia industrial in 1981 i have yet to see another one like it no were i am interested in selling it for 14,000 dollars i have yet to see this bike anywhere if interested in buying it you can email me at aragben243@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

